CPR -vs- BLS Training

Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification and basic life support (BLS) certification – what’s the difference?

These two types of CPR certifications can cause a great deal of confusion for people who need a certification for their career. And if you enroll in the incorrect certification class, you may risk having to take the class again.

So how can you avoid wasting 4 hours of your day sitting in the wrong class?


BLS for the Healthcare Provider is a more advanced level of CPR than a standard CPR class. BLS is a certification through the American Red Cross (ARC) and is required for all medical personnel. This includes:

  1. Doctors

  2. Nurses

  3. Emergency Medical Professionals

  4. Dentists

  5. Medical Assistants

  6. And many more!

Basically anyone who works in the healthcare field.


CPR training is the certification that is geared toward non-medical personnel. It also may be called “layperson CPR.” This course is the most basic version of CPR.

It is important to know what type of layperson CPR you are getting because there are many variations. The most inclusive certifications will cover adult, child and infant CPR, automated external defibrillators and conscious and unconscious choking. Also, make sure your certification is valid for two years as well. Some examples who may need CPR would be:

  1. Daycare workers

  2. Teachers

  3. Sports coach

  4. Gym staff

  5. Foster parents

  6. School bus drivers

  7. Security/ Police Officers

  8. Construction workers

  9. Electricians

  10. Camp counselors

So there you have it!

If you're not sure which certification is best for you please contact Angelmedic CPR training center.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All